Blog Hop

I was asked to participate in a blog hop by Rhonda Hall http://rhondamhall.wordpress.com/2014/03/18/blog-hop/ and to answer four questions and then link to three other writers. 

 

1.  What am I working on? 

I am continuing to write Courtships and Carriages, a historical romance set in Omaha in 1903. 

Courtships and Carriages

Hear the train’s clang …

Peek into Gwen’s heart …
Will she or won’t she accept the marriage proposal?

 

Here is an excerpt:  

Chapter 1

Winter 1903

Omaha, Nebraska

“‘Be careful,” Gwen yelled to her mother through the snowflakes falling around them. The wet drops just had to come as they headed for this boring inaugural. She shrugged and stepped forward, planting her feet firmly on the wooden planks dusted with snow before pressing forward. The biting air stung her face and hands. She thrust her cold-gloved hands further inside the fox muff. Glancing at her mother wearing a blue coat trimmed with fur sleeves, she asked, “Am I going too fast?”

“Her mother took a deep breath. ‘No. I’m able to keep up. I’m more concerned about being late.’

“Gwen gazed ahead of her. ‘I don’t know why the mayor decided to have his ceremony at the train station.’

“‘Pa said it’s because it’s the city hub of business activity, and he wants to highlight that.’

“‘I suppose,’ Gwen said with disgust. She pulled her hand from her muff to brush the flakes off her shoulders. She shivered. Horse hoofs pounded the brick pavement. Gwen turned and stared at the yellow-wheeled carriage approaching. What a beauty. She sighed, wishing her father owned a carriage like that. …” Read more here:  https://janetsyasnitsick.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/courtships-and-carriages-excerpt/

In addition, Ruth Ann Nordin and I are planning another anthology together after the continued success of Bride by Arrangement, which includes two novellas. Ruth’s story is The Purchased Bride, a wonderful mail-order bride story with a twist, and mine is She Came by Train. She came by train from Virginia to the desolate land of Lincoln, Neb. in 1876 to become a governess of two children of a widower businessman. But a traveling minister from Virginia is smitten with her as well as her employer. She came by train, but only her heart will determine if she’ll return that way.   

2.  How does my work differ from others of its genre?

It includes heartwarming scenes; historical details, such as a small excerpt from my grandfather’s Omaha Fire Department application in 1911 included in my historical romance, Lockets and Lanterns; some bittersweet moments similar to Hans Christian Andersen’s  short stories; and humor like in my Bride by Arrangement novella, She Came by Train:  

“Opal bid her employer good-bye. Shaking her head, she looked over the barren horizon. Tears filled her eyes. Alex showed her the outbuildings – the barn, the chicken coop, the pigs’ pen, all primitive structures. Her heart sank. What did she expect? her mind roared. But indeed, she had anticipated a better house for a banker of means. Oh well. She told herself she made her bed and she had to deal with it. …” https://janetsyasnitsick.wordpress.com/2013/09/27/she-came-by-train-2/

 3.  Why do I write what I do?

My passion for writing began as a child. I wrote a play when I was 10-years-old. The neighborhood children and I acted it out for the stay-at-home mothers. Thus, I write because I love writing. 

I took this love of writing into my adulthood by becoming a language arts teacher and later a journalist. From my reporter’s experience, I learned to write clear and concise sentences, not use adverbs and avoid repetition of words. 

Second, I want to reach peoples’ hearts and spur a centering of their lives around Christian principles. I can do this through my characters living their faith-filled lives without being preachy. A preachy novel with mounds of Christian text does nothing to help those struggling with problems but incorporating small scripture passages at key points does work.

4.  How does your writing process work?

I have an idea where I want the story to go; however, I do not plan every scene. As I write, the story develops, and sometimes it takes turns I did not anticipate. But I still get to the plot I developed in my head, it just winds and curves in different ways than I had collected in that inner matter they call the brain. 

Ruth Ann Nordin

I’m a stay-at-home mom of four school-aged boys and the proud wife of a veteran of the US Air Force. I live in a small Nebraska town where I am fortunate to spend my days creating new worlds with characters I fall in love with. I’ve written over thirty romances and have plans to write many more in the years to come.

Blog:  http://ruthannnordinauthorblog.wordpress.com/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/authornordin

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ruth.a.nordin?ref=profile

Web site:  http://www.ruthannnordin.com/

Mary Connealy

Mary Connealy writes romantic comedy with cowboys. She is a Carol Award winner, and a Rita, Christy and Inspirational Reader’s Choice finalist. She is the author of Swept Away and Fired up, Book #1 & #2 in the Trouble in Texas series, book #3 Stuck Together is coming June 2014. And the Wild at Heart series begins in September with book #1 Tried & True.

Mary is also in the anthologies A Bride for All Seasons, A Match Made in Texas and coming soon, Four Weddings and a Kiss. She wrote the bestselling Kincaid Bride series, Lassoed in Texas Trilogy, Montana Marriages Trilogy and Sophie’s Daughters Trilogy. Mary is married to a Nebraska rancher and has four grown daughters, two spectacular grandchildren, and one on the way.

<a href=” http://www.seekerville.blogspot.com/”>Seekerville</a>
<a href=” http://petticoatsandpistols.com/”>Petticoats & Pistols</a>
<a href=”http://mconnealy.blogspot.com/”>My Blog</a>
<a href=”http://www.maryconnealy.com/”>My Website</a>
<a href=”http://www.maryconnealy.com/newsletter.html“>My Newsletter</a>

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/maryconnealy

Twitter: http://twitter.com/maryconnealy 

(Dorothy) Paula Freda

Paula Freda’s books range from Fiction and Non-fiction Adventure, Romance, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Poetry, Articles, Essays and How-to-Write Instructional complete with Lessons and optional assignments. 

Homemaker, mother of two grown sons, and former off-the-desk publisher of a family-oriented print small press, (1984 thru 1999), The Pink Chameleon, that she now publishes on line, Paula was raised by her grandmother and mother, and has been writing for as long as she can remember. Even before she could set pencil to paper, she would spin her stories in the recording booths in the Brooklyn Coney Island Arcades for a quarter per 3-minute record. She states, “I love the English language, love words and seeing them on display, typed and alive. A romantic at heart, I write simply and emotionally. One of my former editors kindly described my work, ‘…her pieces are always deep, gentle and refreshing….'” Paula further states, “My stories are sensitive, deeply emotional, sensual when appropriate, yet non-graphic, family fare, page turners. My hope is that my writing will bring entertainment and uplift the human spirit, bring a smile to your face and your soul, and leave you filled with a generous amount of hope.”

Web site:  http://www.angelfire.com/falcon/dpfenterprises.com/

Twitter: Paulaebooks

Facebook: Facebook profile

Blog: http://dorothypaula.wordpress.com

 

 

 

 

About janetsyasnitsick

Visit blog for writing, marketing tidbits to dazzle your creative endeavors. New book: Courtships and Carriages, a sweet Christian romance, (two proposals but who wins Gwen's heart?). Other works: Ruth Ann Nordin's and Janet Syas Nitsick's anthology, Bride by Arrangement; Janet's five-star, inspiring-historical romance, Lockets and Lanterns; 10th place story, "The Silver Lining;" and Best of Year book, Seasons of the Soul. Background: former journalist and language-arts teacher. www.JanetSyasNitsick.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Blog Hop Post | Ruth Ann Nordin's Blog

  2. Thank you Ruth Ann Nordin for participating in this Blog Hop. God bless.

Leave a Reply

